The Love Birds Cast Recording is officially released – Buy your CD today


LoveBirdsCD-ArrangedForSale-onBag600x450The Original Edinburgh Cast Recording of Love Birds is released today by SimG Records. Edinburgh audiences (who’ve had a sneak peek over the weekend) can purchase CDs after 12.35pm performances until 31 August 2015 at the Pleasance Two, Pleasance Courtyard.

You can also ORDER ONLINE NOW HERE. And after you’ve listened to the sample tracks below, we think you’ll want to!

The Love Birds recording features our amazing, original Edinburgh cast: Ruth Betteridge, Greg Castiglioni, John Guerrasio, George Knapper, Jonny Purchase, Joanna Sawyer, Anna Stolli, Rafe Watts and Ryan Willis, and features Neil MacDonald, Marcus Pritchard and James Pritchard on piano, bass and drums.

In addition to the many numbers audiences have already been coming out of the pleasance humming, the Cast Recording also includes a BONUS TRACK – the torch song “On Cloudy Days”, sung by Ruth Betteridge, who plays Valentine Macaw – which had to be cut from the show during rehearsals in order to meet the Fringe’s 60-minute running time.

The physical CD also comes complete with a 16-page colour booklet, including production photographs, a synopsis, and cast and creative biographies. The album will be available digitally later in the year (Catalogue No: SimGR-CD028).

Created in 2009, SimG Records has become the leading independent label supporting new musical theatre writers and artists in the UK. In 2014 SimG Records was nominated for seven Album Awards. Mark Shenton from The Stage says: “SimG Records are doing more for new writers than just about any other label around.” Physical CDs are available to pre-order now from, and will be available digitally later in the year.

Last month, SimG released the album of writer Robert J Sherman and director Stewart Nicholls earlier, acclaimed collaboration A Spoonful of Sherman, celebrating three generations of Sherman family music.


Song List

  • Prologue – John Guerrasio, Greg Castiglioni & Company
  • Mary Poppins – George Knapper, Ryan Willis, Jonny Purchase & Rafe Watts
  • Tinpanorama – Company
  • Sadie Macaw (Part 1) – Ryan Willis, Jonny Purchase, Rafe Watts & George Knapper
  • The Bird With The Broken Heart (Nobody Knows) – Ruth Betteridge (with Ryan Willis, Rafe Watts, Jonny Purchase & George Knapper)
  • Valentine – George Knapper (with Ryan Willis, Jonny Purchase & Rafe Watts)
  • Sadie Macaw (Part 2) – Rafe Watts, Ryan Willis, Jonny Purchase & George Knapper
  • Old Fashioned Guy – John Guerrasio & Greg Castiglioni
  • The Flipper Flap – Jonny Purchase (with George Knapper, Ryan Willis & Rafe Watts)
  • Old Fashioned Guy (Reprise) – John Guerrasio and Jonny Purchase (with Rafe Watts, Ryan Willis & George Knapper)
  • The Sharpest Smile – Anna Stolli
  • Paint A Rainbow – Joanna Sawyer (with Rafe Watts & Ryan Willis)
  • Crunchy Crackers – Greg Castiglioni
  • On Cloudy DaysBonus Track – Ruth Betteridge
  • Love Birds – George Knapper, Ruth Betteridge & Company
  • Today Is Yesterday’s Tomorrow – John Guerrasio & Company
  • Love Birds (Finale) – Company


Sample tracks